Brain clip art

Curriculum & Instruction

Brain clip artCurriculum & Instruction

Personal and academic success for all:

The goal of the school division‘s Curriculum & Instruction Team is to establish educational excellence, cohesion, and continuity among our schools, and create a seamless educational experience for all students, preschool through grade twelve.

We provide leadership in developing curriculum, deepening and broadening professional knowledge and skills, and implementing and assessing instructional programs. We aim to ensure that every student excels in rigorous and relevant curriculum that reflects what students need to know in a global 21st century environment.

Curriculum for the Charlottesville City Schools is outlined in the GPS (Guides for Pacing and Standards). These guides, created by teachers for teachers, provide an instructional framework for equitable teaching and learning for all students.

To see the specific offerings for grades 5-12, please see the Program of Studies.

Curriculum and Instruction Staff

Associate Superintendent Curriculum & Instruction:

Jim Henderson (434)245-2400
Hender1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Curriculum Coordinators and Contacts

 

AVID (College Preparatory Program)

Beverly Catlin
CatlinB1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Career and Technical Education

Stephanie Carter
CarterS1@charlottesvilleschools.org

English and Language Arts

Jenifer Davis
DavisJ1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Fine Arts

Aaron Eichorst
EichorA1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Health and Physical Education

Patrick Johnson
JohnsoP1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Mathematics

Carolyn Swift
SwiftC1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Science

Susan Ramsey
RamseyS1@charlottesvilleschools.org

Social Science and History

Annie Evans
EvansA1@charlottesvilleschools.org

World Languages

Annie Evans
EvansA1@charlottesvilleschools.org